Jacob's Ladder

Jacob's Ladder

Book - 2007
Average Rating:
Rate this:

The Hodder Reading Project Level 3-4 identifies blocks to progression and takes pupils from National Curriculum Level 3 to Level 4. It comprises the Teacher's Resource, Pupil's Book and 6 Readers.

Reader 4, Level 4, Jacob's Ladder by Brian Keaney.

Jacob wakes in the middle of a field with no recollection of how he came to be there. The only thing he can clearly remember is his name. Is he alive or dead? Jacob is then taken by Virgil, a mysterious guide, to a featureless place named Locus. He is given a grey uniform and becomes part of a mass of young people, all resigned to their fate and struggling to piece together memories of their previous existence. With two companions Jacob sets out on a journey back towards the life he has left. The journey is uncertain; there is no guide, nor any advice as to decisions that have to be made. Challenges, temptations, fearful encounters with strange characters and creatures lead him to the Palace of Remembrance, the gateway back to the real world, where a final (or is it a first?) choice awaits him.

Publisher: London, England : Hodder Murray, 2007, c2005.
ISBN: 9780340940884
Characteristics: 170 p. ;,20 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Nov 17, 2013

Different kind of a story. Starts out kinda weird , but if you persevere and keep reading ( and it's not too hard to keep on reading ! ) You're glad you did as it gets even better .
Gets you wanting to know what's going to happen next. Good book .

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Library

To Top