The Wildling Sisters

The Wildling Sisters

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
"An evocative novel in the vein of Kate Morton and Daphne Du Maurier, in which the thrill of first love clashes with the bonds of sisterhood, and all will be tested by the dark secret at the heart of Applecote Manor. Sisters. Survivors. When fifteen-year-old Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote Manor in June 1959, they expect a quiet English country summer. Instead, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter, Audrey, five years before. As the sisters become divided by new tensions when two handsome neighbors drop by, Margot finds herself inexplicably drawn into the life Audrey left behind. When the summer takes a deadly turn, the girls must unite behind an unthinkable choice or find themselves torn apart forever. Fifty years later, Jesse is desperate to move her family out of their London home, where signs of her widower husband's previous wife are around every corner. Gorgeous Applecote Manor, nestled in the English countryside, seems the perfect solution. But Jesse finds herself increasingly isolated in their new sprawling home, at odds with her fifteen-year-old stepdaughter, and haunted by the strange rumors that surround the manor. Rich with the heat and angst of love both young and old, The Wildling Sisters is a gorgeous and breathtaking journey into the bonds that unite a family and the darkest secrets of the human heart"--
Publisher: New York, New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, ©2017.
ISBN: 9780399174131
Characteristics: 320 pages ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TitaC27
May 01, 2019

I read this book last summer and it was the perfect summer read. I don't know how to give it an 'intellectual critique,' so.... The story was good. I liked that it split two different stories into one; kept me interested. I like how this author writes - made me look up words that were used, which just makes me feel smarter when I have to do that...

w
weezie1
Jan 30, 2019

Not sure about this book - read parts of it

SPL_Brittany Jan 20, 2019

After listening to "Black Rabbit Hall" as an audiobook I couldn't wait to read this novel. However after reading it, I much preferred her first novel to this one. Despite being touted as a modern Gothic novel, it felt that the author was trying too hard to create a sense of mystery and foreboding in this novel. It is set in two time periods, the 1950s and modern day and follows two families as they settle into an old house in the Cotswolds each family with their own mystery and sense of foreboding. I would have preferred that the author to focus on the early story of the Wildling sisters and the mystery of their missing cousin Audrey, rather then add another story to "solve" the mystery as it didn't fit and feel authentic to the first story. Overall, I found it to be a somewhat enjoyable read, as I am partial to gothic tales, and I did like the location - how can you not enjoy a tale set in the Cotswolds? But other then that it fell flat for me.

debwalker Aug 02, 2017

One of the Top ten books that librarians across the country love! They know what's good!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top