The Wrath and the Dawn

The Wrath and the Dawn

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
31
1
1
In this reimagining of The Arabian Nights, Shahrzad plans to avenge the death of her dearest friend by volunteering to marry the murderous boy-king of Khorasan but discovers not all is as it seems within the palace.
Publisher: New York, NY : G.P. Putnam's Sons, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA), ©2015.
ISBN: 9780399171611
Characteristics: 404 pages :,map ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Renée Ahdieh is an amazing Author. This book takes place in the middle east and has amazing plot, character development, and imagery. As the book goes on the characters become more defined and the whole thing becomes more intense. The way it is written makes you never want to put it down.

sjpl_rebekah Aug 29, 2019

I like the story of A Thousand and One Nights, so I was excited to read this YA adaptation. I was underwhelmed. This book did not do nearly enough to develop the story or the characters before jumping into the romance. The whole time I was thinking, they have spent hardly any time together, know almost nothing about each other, and yet they are deeply in love. After so many extraordinary girls before her, it is unclear why Shahrzad is the one who gets to live. She tells stories? So what. I personally did not find the stories she told to be that riveting and I was perplexed by the rapid passage of time. She tells one short story and then it's dawn. Hooray she lives to tell another tale! The king trusts Shahrzad implicitly, but again, why? I just didn't buy it.

I did enjoy the imagery and I listened to the book in it's entirety, so I didn't hate it. I would have loved to see the magic aspect fleshed out better. I saw great potential with that particular storyline, even if it didn't get a lot of page presence. I am on the fence about starting the next book The Rose & the Dagger.

t
TheQueenofWords
Jul 04, 2019

What a horrible book, horrible writing(in every way), horrible characters and horrible story line.

First of all, the writing is so tedious and boring. I tried to read it all but it became a chore, not a fun way to use up my time. The writing content was odd, and I absolutely despised the random Arabic words here and there. The author should have made up her mind. Write it in ENGLISH OR IN ARABIC!

Secondly, the characters drove me crazy. Shahrzad, is weak in every way. She has ZERO backbone! I mean, if you want to kill someone, then don't fall in love with them after what 3 days, for at the most, and for no good reasons, oh no, even they didn't have 1 conversation. And it's not like she is lonely, why back at home, she had a frigging BOYFRIEND! Please, she has no excuse for that. Not only that, she really needs character development. As for Khalid, he is boring. I understand that there could be some really bad reason, for example someone is forcing you to kill all those girls but a curse was not only unrealistic and stupid, the curse itself was boring. Khalid too should have some character development. The other characters are stupid and pointless only there to make sure that there are other people in the world.

Last is the story line. The story picks up right away which is really unexpected because we, as readers, would need to have some connection with her dead best friend. Then we must gradually begin to get over her. Also this story is just boring because there is no meat and in the end when the big reveal happened, I was about to fall out of my chair of boredom and plain annoyance at the author's lack of imagination.

Thank god I finished this chore(it stopped being a book or a story a long time ago).

k
kmobuckeye
Feb 19, 2019

Really enjoyed this retelling - Great start to a series

JCLStefanieE Feb 18, 2019

Inspired by the stories in Arabian Nights, Wrath is first and foremost a romance wrapped in mystery and adventure. Perfect for fans of Rae Carson.

The story is centered in a middle eastern city called Khorasan, many years ago. It follows a teen girl named Shahrzad who is on a revenge seeking mission to kill the young king of Khorasan. The king has been marrying a different woman every night, and then having them murdered the next day for many months now, and he had Shahrzad’s best friend killed. Shahrzad is the first woman to volunteer to be the next bride sacrifice, and the king cannot help but wonder why this girl would give up her life. As the two start to spend more time together, Shahrzad begins to realize that there must be a reason why the king kills these women, and she is determined to find out why. I was so impressed with how strong the female characters were in the story, and how the author seemed to make a point that women are capable of saving themselves. The story has romance, suspense, action, humour, and it is a bit like Game of Thrones mixed with Aladdin but for Young Adults. A good book to read in the summer. (Submitted by Joy)

w
WoodneathAlexa
Jul 24, 2018

If you enjoy fairy-tale spin offs then this is the duology for you!! Renee Ahdieh took the idea of the original 'A Thousand and one Arabian Nights' story and made it all her own. The main character, Shahrzad, mirrors Disney's Princess Jasmine with her strong willed attitude. Throughout the story she continuously takes matters into her own hands and refuses to let anyone decide her fate for her. Among the action and mystery there is also a beautiful love story with a lot of "swoon worthy" scenes in this book. I suggest you have book 2 (The Rose and the Dagger) on hand when you finish this one!

r
RebelBelle13
Apr 03, 2018

This is a retelling of 1001 Nights- or, if you're familiar with Disney's Aladdin, the Genie's reference in his Friend Like Me song, "Sharhzd had a thousand tales." It was tough to get into at first, since it takes place in the Middle East- an area I'm not familiar with, and the strange names and honorifics did confuse me for awhile. As soon as I got a handle on it, I really began to enjoy myself. There's only hints of magic here- a floating carpet, a curse, and the ability to light candles. It isn't central to the story, like so many YA fantasy novels, and this magic takes a backseat to the romance, which certainly takes center stage. I quickly became wrapped up in Sharhzd and Khalid's relationship, and was not happy when the story shifted to her father or Tariq. Had I been reading the actual book instead of listening to it on Audiobook, I would have just skimmed through those chapters. Tariq comes off as whiny and petulant, and acts like a 3 year old who has had his favorite toy taken from him. Shazi and Khalid's relationship progresses at a believable rate. I really felt for both of their struggles- neither of them wanted to fall in love, it simply complicated things. I was happy to see that the book started off with them being married, and having sex right away- something you don't often see in YA novels, and it was refreshing. It set the stage for them actually making love at the end of the book, and showcased that there is an obvious difference between the two. Shazi is the strongest leading lady in YA that I've seen in awhile, and that was also very refreshing. She fights with her words and actions. She is unafraid to do what is right. She's spunky, brave, and demands the truth. I will most definitely be reading the next, as this ends on a cliffhanger.

OPL_AutumnH Feb 13, 2018

One of my favorite folk tale retellings. The characters are engaging and multifaceted and the story never drags. And the setting details are gorgeous - I want to be in those places and most especially eat all the amazing food described.

ArapahoeLaura Feb 07, 2018

A loose retelling of A Thousand and One Arabian Nights with an epic romance

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
r
rozanowak
Mar 29, 2016

rozanowak thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
r
rozanowak
Mar 29, 2016

Sexual Content: A couple scenes. Nothing too vivid

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top