Where Tigers Are at Home

Where Tigers Are at Home

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
A writer's family life unravels when he begins editing an odd, unpublished biography, his ex-wife embarks on a dangerous geological expedition, his daughter travels on sexually charged trips, and the writer descends into madness.
Publisher: New York : Other Press, [2013]
ISBN: 9781590515624
1590515625
Characteristics: 817 p. ;,25 cm.
Additional Contributors: Mitchell, Michael 1941-
Alternative Title: Où les tigres sont chez eux

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
diesellibrarian Jul 10, 2013

The brief summary does no justice to this remarkable, expansive work. It will appeal to fans of GGM and Jose Saramago for its lyrical quality and sweaty tropical setting. The author uses several distinct but interconnected narratives to paint a haunting picture of post-colonial northeastern Brazi... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

diesellibrarian Jul 10, 2013

The brief summary does no justice to this remarkable, expansive work. It will appeal to fans of GGM and Jose Saramago for its lyrical quality and sweaty tropical setting. The author uses several distinct but interconnected narratives to paint a haunting picture of post-colonial northeastern Brazil: thugs, favelas and uncharted jungles, drug-addled youth, and a corrupt and power-hungry ruling class. Interspersed though the narrative are passages from a (possibly spurious) biography of 17th-century ecclesiastical figure Athanasius Kircher, a Jesuit priest who, despite a wide-ranging intellect, managed draw the wrong conclusions about almost everything he studied. With a masterful hand and an unflinching gaze, Blas de Robles weaves these incongruous threads into a powerful story that sticks with the reader for days.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top